Imagens das páginas
[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

- - 1864.

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

WEDNESDAY, April 6th, 1864. The Convention met in Liberty Hall, New Orleans, at 12 M., in pursuance of paragraph XI of General Orders No. 35, of Major General N. P. Banks, the commanding general of the department, as follows: XI. The delegates duly elected to the Convention shall meet at Liberty Hall. Executive Building, in the city of New Orleans, at 12 o'clock M., on Wednesday, the 6th day of April, 1864. At fifteen minutes past 12 o'clock, T. B. Thorpe, a member of the Convention, called it to order. i. J. R. Terry nominated Alfred Shaw as temporary president. Carried unanimously. W. R. Fish nominated Alfred C. Hills as temporary secretary. Carried unanimously. In response to the unanimous invitation of the Convention, Rev. Dr. Newman offered prayer. The following communications from S. Wvotnowski, secretary of state, were then read : STATE OF LOUISIANA, | Office of the Secretary of State. s.

In conformity to General Orders No. 35, under date of the 11th of March last, of Maj. Gen. N. P. Banks, commanding the Department of the Gulf, and to the proclamation of his excellency, Michael Hahn, governor of this State, bearing date of the 16th of said month, for an election to be held on the

I A N A .

28th of the same month of March, for the

choice of delegates to a Constitutional Convention to be elected for the revision and amendment of the Constitution of the State of Louisiana, The undersigned, did, this day, examine the returns received of the votes given at the elections of the 28th of March last, and found the following named delegates obtained, in the following parishes, the greatest number of votes, so far as received up to this date, to-wit : -

ORLEANS. First Representative District—Joseph Gorlinski, R. B. Bell, Geo. F. Brott, W. T. Stocker, John Stumpf, J. B. Schroeder, E. Murphy. ... " Second Representative District—Terrance Cook, Joseph H. Wilson, John Henderson, Jr., J. H. Stiner, M. W. Murphy, P. K. O’Conner, Alfred C. Hills, T. B. Thorpe, J. J. Healy, Geo. A. Fosdick, W. H. Hire. Third Representative District—John W. Thomas, James Fuller, John Sullivan, J. R. Terry, O. W. Austin, John Foley, George Howes, H. W. Waters, P. Harnan. Fourth Representative District Alfred Shaw, R. King Cutler, Judge E. H. Durell, E. J. Wenck, Louis Gastinel. Fifth Representative District — Edmund Abell, John Buckley, Jr., Xavier Maurer, J. P. Montamat, A. Mendiverri. , Sixth Representative District—J. V. Bofill, F. M. Crozat, Dr. F. M. Bonzano, Adolphe Bailey. Seventh Representative District—Judge R. K. Howell, J. G. Baum, M. D. Kavanagh, H. Millspaugh.

Eighth Representative District—J. A. Spellicy, O. H. Poynot, J. K. Cook. Ninth Representative District—H. Maas, E. Goldman, Edward Hart. Tenth Representative District—John Purcell, C. W. Stauffer, W. R. Fish, Benj. Campbell, T. Barrett, Geo. W. Geier, R.S. Abbott, James Duane, Edmund Flood, J. L. Davies. Right Bank of Mississippi (Algiers)—J. H. Flagg, W. H. Seymour.

[blocks in formation]

FELICIANA (EAST). Jansin T. Paine, Martin Schnurr.

Robert Morris, Samuel Pursell, Christian
Roselius, John Payne.
J. B. Bromley, E. H. Knobloch, C. H. L.
R. W. Montague.
Lewis Lombard, Thos. J. Decker. Elec-
tion contested. Votes supposed to be 246.
Not entirely returned.
Thomas Ong.
R. Beauvais.
Young Burke.
Charles Smith.
R. W. Bennie, Adolphe Gaidry.
Total number of Delegates—Orleans. . 63
Country Parishes 27
- 90
Total number of votes as far as re-
ceived up to the 5th April, 1864, at
2 o'clock, P. M.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6184

And, therefore, the undersigned has the honor to transmit herewith to the honorable the president and members of the Convention the following statement, together with all the original returns from the parishes of this State.

Signed under his hand, at New Orleans, the 6th day of April, in the year of our Lord

[blocks in formation]

J. B. Schroeder, Geo. F. Brott, E. Murphy,

| W. T. Stocker, Terrance Cook, Alfred Č.

Hills, Joseph H. Wilson, T. B. Thorpe,
John Henderson, Jr., J. J. Healy, J. H.
Stiner, George A. Fosdick, M. W. Murphy,
W. H. Hire, P. K. O'Conner, John W.
Thomas, John Foley, James Fuller, George
Howes, John Sullivan, H. W. Waters, J. R.
Terry, P. Harnan, O. W. Austin, Alfred
Shaw, E. J. Wenck, R. King Cutler, Louis
Gastinel, E. H. Durell, Edmund Abeil, J. P.
Montamat, John Buckley, Jr., A. Mendi-
verri, Xavier Maurer, J. V. Bofill, Dr. M. F.
Bonzano, F. M. Crozat, Adolphe Bailey, R.
K. Howell, M. D. Kavanagh, J. G. Baum, H.
Millspaugh, J. A. Spellicy, J. K. Cook, O.
H. Poynot, H. Maas, Edward Hart, E.
Goldman, John Purcell, Geo. W. Geier, C.
W. Stauffer, W. R. Fish, James Duane,
Benjamin Campbell, Edmund Flood, J. L.
Davies, J. T. Barrett, J. H. Flagg, W. H.
Seymour, Joseph Dupaty, James Ennis, H.
J. Heard, P. A. Kugler, Martin Schnurr, Ro-
bert Morris, Samuel Pursell, Christian Rose-
lius, John Payne, J. B. Bromley, E. H.
Knobloch, C. H. L. Gruneberg, Lewis
Lombard, Thomas J. Decker, Thomas Ong,
R. Beauvais, Young Burke, Charles Smith.
R. W. Bennie, Adolphe Gaidry. -

Mr. Montamat moved to refer the communication of the secretary of state, containing a list of the delegates elect, to a committee of five. Carried. *

The chair named Messrs. Thomas, Samuel Pursell, R. W. Bennie, C. H. L. Gruneberg and George F. Brott, as said committee.

[ocr errors]
« AnteriorContinuar »