« AnteriorContinuar »
Bristol has many other churches more or less deserving of the attention of the tourist; but the limits of this work will scarcely admit of even the briefest reference to these. St. Mark's CHURCH, or, as it is commonly called, the Mayor's Chapel, on the north side of the College Green, opposite the cathedral, is an ancient building of some interest. It was part of a foundation by Maurice de Gaunt, in the early part of the thirteenth century, "for one chaplain, and one hundred poor people to be relieved every day.” Though this church has undergone repeated alterations, its interior still presents many interesting features.
St. AUGUSTINE'S CHURCH, in St. Augustine's Parade, College Green, was erected shortly after the monastery, for the accommodation of persons who settled down in its neighbourb.od. The present edifice, however, belongs to the end of the fifteenth century. In the churchyard lie the remains of Sir William Draper, the antagonist of Junius.
All Saints CHURCH is in Corn Street, opposite the Council House. The original building was no doubt of great antiquity ; but the present edifice dates from about 1466. Among its monuments is one to Edward Colston the philanthropist.
St. James's CHURCH, St. James's Churchyard, Horse Fair, a building of some antiquity, has been considerably improved internally within the last few years. It has in the north aisle a good bust by Bailey to the memory of a late incumbent.
St. STEPHEN'S CHURCH, in St. Stephen's Avenue, has a lofty and beautiful tower, which has been pronounced "the fairest form ever erected by the taste and skill of the last Gothic school.” The porch is a fine piece of work, and the interior is in keeping with the style of the exterior, which is Perpendicular. This church contains numerous monuments.
Of the remaining churches many have been erected within the last twenty or thirty years to supply the growing wants of the population. Though mostly neat and convenient, none of them call for special notice. The same remark may be made regarding one or two old churches not included in the present list.
DISSENTING CHAPELS are very numerous, and some of them display considerable architectural elegance. Among those which seem deserving of mention are St. Mary's Roman Catholic Chapel, near the stone bridge, at the head of the quay, originally built for the Irvingites at an expense of £13,000 ; Arley Chapel, in Stoke's Croft, a fine building in the Italian style, and Zion Chapel, at Bedminster Bridge, belonging to the Independents; the Wesleyan Chapel, Broadmead (the original meeting-house of the Rev. J. Wesley); the City Road Baptist Chapel, in Stoke's Croft ; and the United Presbyterian Church, near St. James's Church.
PUBLIC BUILDINGS. —A city of the commercial and general activity of Bristol requires many public buildings; and an enumeration of the principal edifices of this description will show that its wants are well provided for.
The Guildhall is in Broad Street. It is a modern building in the Tudor style, and is used for the business of Quarter Sessions, the County Court, Bankruptcy and other Law Courts.
The Council House, situated in Corn Street, is a handsome building of freestone, with a figure of Justice on the cornice above the entrance, which is between two Ionic columns. As its name implies, this building is used for municipal purposes.
Pos Exchange is in the same street. It was erected in 1741, at a cost of about £50,000. Parts of this building are lev as offices. Its interior forms a quadrangle which is used as a corn-market.
The Commercial Roomis, whose name implies their use, are also situated in Corn Street. This edifice has an Ionic portico for its entrance, and is adorned with allegorical statues of the city of Bristol, Commerce, and Navigation.
The chief Market Halls are those in High Street, St. Nicholas Street, and Union Street—all neat and commodious in their appointinents.
Institutions of a literary and educational description are numerous. The Bristol Institution, Park Street,* was erected in 1823 “for the advancement of science, literature, and the arts.” It has reading-rooms, a museum, courses of lectures, and all the other provisions ordinarily found in such institutions. The Athencum, in Corn Street, is a building similar in its uses to that
* At No. 10 of this street Hannah More kept a boardingschool for young ladies.
already mentioned. It was opened in 1854. The Theatre Royal, situated in Great King Street, obtained the approval of Garrick for its just dimensions. Near it is the City Library.
Queen Elizabeth's Hospital, an imposing building in the Tudor style, situated on the western slope of Brandon Hill, was founded in 1586 by John Carr, for boarding, clothing, and educating poor children of this city and of the manor of Congresbury. The dress of tke boys is similar to that worn in Christ's Hospital, London. The Free Grammar School, in Unity Street, College Green, was founded in 1532 by Robert Thorne, merchant. Upwards of 150 boys obtain a classical and mathematical education in this institution. It is scarcely “ free," as each pupil has to pay £6 a year. Colston's Endowed School, Temple Street, founded in 1711, provides for the education and clothing of forty boys. Nearly opposite it is a Blue Coat School, founded in 1797, which is for the clothing and education of forty girls. Among other educational institutions may be mentioned the Asylum for the Blind, in Queen's Road, opposite Berkeley Square, where, besides such education as they are capable of receiving, the blind are instructed in useful and profitable work; the Deaf and Dumb Asylum, in Park Row ; a Reformatory School, etc. There are numerous denominational schools. In Clifton and the neighbourhood there are several very important and interesting educational institutions. These will be described in their proper place.
There are numerous charities, chiefly in the form of almshouses. The most ancient of these foundations is that of John Foster, merchant, who died in the time of Henry VII. In the chapel of this almshouse, which is situated in Steep Street, are two rows of sedilia. The foundation is for seven men and seven women, who receive 5s. weekly, and other gratuities. Alderman Stevens, Edward Colston, Dr. Thomas White, and other benevolent individuals, have left similar memorials of themselves.
SUBURBS AND VICINITY OF BRISTOL.
CLIFTON. HOTELS : Queen's, Queen's Road : In coffee-room, per day - bed, 2s.6d. and 3s. ; breakfast, ls. 6d. to 3s. ; dinner (plain), 3s. ; tea, 1s. 6d. ; attendance, 1s. 6d. In sitting-room, per day, room 4s. to 78.; bed-room, 2s. to 3s. ; breakfast from 1s. 6d.; dinner, 3s. 6d.; tea, 1s. 6d.; attendance, 1s. 6d. ; fire and candles or gas, 3s. Clifton Down, opposite the Downs : Per day-sitting-room and bed-room, 7s. 6d. to 11s. 6d.; bedroom, 2s. 6d. to 3s. 6d. ; breakfast, 28. to 3s.; dinner from 2s. 6d.; plain tea, 1s. 6d. Cumberland, Cumberland Basin ; Hibernia, Cumberland Basin; York, Dowry Square; Stow's, Gloucester Terrace. See also Hotels in Bristol. Private lodgings of every description are to be had in Clifton. There is communication with Bristol by omnibuses, which run from and to the Exchange every quarter of an hour. There are also omnibuses to and from the Railway Station for the principal trains. The village of Clifton has within a comparatively small period grown up into the dignity of a large, thriving, and fashionable watering-place. It is charmingly laid out in streets, crescents, and squares, separate villas