« AnteriorContinuar »
Doddington, also about a mile distant, has a Grecian church. Doddington House, the seat of Sir W. Codrington, is in the same style, and is surrounded by fino grounds.
Tormarton, about 5 miles from Sodbury, has a Norman church worth visiting. The chancel arch is specially deserving of attention. There is an ancient tomb in the chancel, bearing, however, no date or inscription. In the aisle there is an old brass.
MARSIFIELD [INN: White Hart], 10 miles from Bristol, is a small market-town, consisting principally of one long street nearly a mile in length, and does a considerable trade in malting, the produce of the neighbouring soil being almost exclusively barley. The Church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, is an ancient and handsome structure, in the laterstyle of Early English architecture, ornamented with a fine tower at the western end. The town contains also chapels for Independents, Methodists, and Unitarians, several schools, and a number of charities. The population is 1742. Between Marshfield and Bristol are Cold Ashton, Doynton, and Siston.
Cold Ashton is a mile from Marshfield. Its church is a curious and interesting old building containing several brasses and ancient tombs.
Doynton, nearly a mile from Ashton, has an old church dedicated to the Trinity; it is curiously built, without the least regard to style, and has a square tower partially embattled.
Siston, nearly midway between Marshfield and Bristol, but more than a mile north of the direct road, contains a church, which, although ancient, exhibits no marks of decay. This village is near the Bristol and Birmingham line of railway, and the inhabitants are mostly engaged in agriculture and brickmaking.
STAPLETON, a delightful village, comprising a large number of handsome villas, is 2 miles from Bristol, and is remarkable for the beauty of the scenery by which it is surrounded. The Episcopal residence of the Lord Bishop of Gloucester and Bristol was originally situated here, but, on the death of the late Dr. Monk, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners having decided that in future the bishop's residence should be at Gloucester alone, the house and grounds were sold to the trustees of Colston's School, which was removed hither in 1861. A hundred boys, the sons of freemen of Bristol, receive board, clothing, and education here. The Church was rebuilt in 1857, and has some very good windows of stained glass. Stapleton was the birthplace of Hannah More.
WESTBURY-UPON-Trym is 3 miles from Bristol across the Durdham Downs. It possessed a monastery, which was founded about the year 875, and rebuilt by William Canynge, the wealthy and eccentric merchant of Bristol, who was the first dean of the restored religious house. Wycliffe, the reformer, is said to have had a prebendal stall in this deanery. Westbury has a fine old Church, which has lately been carefully restored.
HOTELS : The Plough, High Street: Bed and board per week, 63s. ; sitting-rooms from 21s. to 35s. per week; attendance, 1s. 6d. per day. The Queen's, top of Promenade : Table d'hôte, per week-board, 42s. ; bed-room, 7s. to 21s.; attendance, 78. (gentlemen) and 4s. (ladies) ; servant's board and lodging, 258. ; in private apartments, per day-sitting-rooms, 3s. 6d. to 8s.; bed, 2s. 6d. ; breakfast, 2s. ; dinner from 38. ; tea (plain), 1s. 6d.; attendance, ls. 6d. ; fires, 6d. and 1s. ; lights, per pair, 1s. 6d. ; coffee-room, per day-bed, 2s. 6d. ; breakfast, 2s. ; dinner, 2s. 6d. ; tea, ls. 6d. ; attendance, Is. 6d. Fleece, High Street; Lamb, High Street; George, Lansdown, Bellevue, Royal, Imperial, etc.
Private lodgings may had in every part of the town, apartments ranging from 15s. and upwards. Distance from Gloucester, 9 miles ; Bristol, 44}; Birmingham, 92;
London, 1214. CHELTENHAM takes its name from the small river Chelt, which flows through the town on its way to join the Severn. It is pleasantly situated in a valley sheltered by the Cotswold Hills, and its amenity is greatly increased by the attractive scenery in its neighbourhood. The history of the town cannot be successfully traced much beyond the Conquest, though a few Roman remains have been found in the vicinity. At the time of the Domesday survey, the manor consisted of eight hides and a half; and among the appurtenances of the demesne were “twenty villeins, ten bordars, and ten servi, with eighteen plough tillages.” It is unnecessary to follow the changes of proprietorship through