« AnteriorContinuar »
distinguished for the tasteful and thriving plantations by which it is surrounded. It is open on certain days to any respectable visitors. Within its limits are preserved some of the antiquities of Cirencester.
VICINITY OF CIRENCESTER.
FAIRFORD (INNS : Bull, George], about 8 miles east from Cirencester, situated at the foot of the Cotswold Hills and near the banks of the Coln, is a pleasant little town, possessing, though rather out of the way, all the advantages of its more opulent neighbours. Its Church is remarkable for its splendid stained windows, which are said to be almost unequalled. The building was erected by an opulent London merchant named John Tame, who purchased the manor of Fairford. Having about the year 1492 captured at sea a quantity of stained glass, on its way to Rome, he began in the following year to erect the church for the reception of it; but having died in the year 1500, when the building was still unfinished, it was continued and completed by his son, Sir Edward Tame, knight. The marks and imperfections visible in the windows are said to have been caused whilst removing them during the civil wars to avoid their complete destruction. The edifice is dedicated to St. Mary, and is a beautiful specimen of the Perpendicular style. The town is not incorporated, but governed by a bailiff. It contains several chapels, a Lunatic Asylum, and a number of charities. Population at the last census, 1654. The angler may find amusement in the Coln, which abounds with small fish, especially trout.
On the way to Fairford the tourist passes several hamlets. Ampney Crucis, Ampney St. Mary's, and Ampney St. Peter's, are all as old as the Domesday Survey; but they have nothing specially interesting.
LECHLADE, 4 miles beyond Fairford, and on the border of the county, was in early times the site of a priory of Black Canons dedicated to St. John the Baptist, which has entirely disappeared. The Church is a handsome building in the Perpendicular style. Important Roman remains have been found here. .
NORTHLEACH (INN: King's Head], formerly a manufacturing town, but now dwindled into obscurity, is 9 miles north-east from Cirencester, in a pleasant valley ainongst the Cotswold Hills. It is under the government of a bailiff, who is appointed by the lord of the manor. The Church, dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul, is ancient and in the Perpendicular style of architecture ; it has a beautiful embattled tower, and in the interior is a number of brasses and monuments. The town contains a Dissenting place of worship, a grammar school on an ancient foundation, besides several almshouses and other charities. The population is 962.
Sherborne, which lies to the east of Northleach, has å very neat little Gothic church, erected about fifteen years ago on the site of the former edifice by Lord Sherborne. It consists of a nave and chancel, with
tower, spire, and peal of bells, and is built of stone found in the county.
A walk of about 6 miles, the road lying along the Roman Fosse Way, will bring the tourist to Bourton-onthe-Water, where he gains a railway station. The localities in this part of the county which the tourist may wish to visit being only accessible by rail by a circuitous route from other parts, may be conveniently noticed here. Bourton is itself of no special importance.
Stow, or Stow-on-the-Wold (Inn : King's Arms), is a small market-town near the eastern boundary of the county, about 3 miles from Bourton and 25 from Gloucester. It is irregularly built on the summit of a hill, and the houses, which are low and built of stone, present a neat appearance. The manufacture of woollen was once carried on here, but has been discontinued. There is a large malting trade. The town is not incorporated, and therefore under the jurisdiction of the county authorities. The church, a fine old building with a lofty tower, is said to have been built by one Ailmore, Earl of Devon and Cornwall. The interior is plain, and contains several monuments to the Chamberlayne family, who are descendants of the Norman family of the Tankervilles, and have possessed estates in this county for centuries. The living belongs to the rector. The town possesses a Dissenting chapel, several schools and almshouses, and a weekly market. The population in 1861 was 2077-a decrease of 173 since 1851,
Wick RISSINGTON, about 2 miles from Stow, has an interesting old church in several styles of architecture.
LITTLE RISSINGTON, just beyond, occupies a very beautiful position, being built upon a rock, from the summit of which a good view of the surrounding country is obtained. Its church is dedicated to St. Peter, and is somewhat curious, the parts most worthy of notice being a Perpendicular pillar which supports the Norman tower, the arches on the north aisle, and the whole of the windows, some of which are Early English, whilst others are Decorated. This interesting little edifice is now in a capital state of repair.
UPPER and LOWER SWELL, two small villages, or rather hamlets, closely adjoin Stow. The church of Upper Swell is old, and has been partially restored. It has some fine Norman remains, especially the chancel arch, and doorway. Near this village is a curious old tomb, situated on an eminence, and surrounded by thick woods. The church of Lower Swell, dedicated to St. Mary, is also Norman, but has been successively enlarged or restored in a totally different style. The village is pleasantly situated on a brook. A mansion in its neighbourhood was the residence of Sir Robert Atkyns, the author of the best “ History of Gloucestershire.” The work was passing through the press when Sir Robert died, 29th November 1711, aged 65. His “ History." appeared in 1712. Sir Robert is buried in the pretty little church of Saperton, about 6 miles westward from Bourton-on-the-Water. He had also a seat in Saperton, charmingly situated in the immediate vicinity of the church.
CONDICOTE, rather less than 2 miles from Upper Swell, is a small rural village with a very ancient church dedicated to St. Nicholas. This building, although small, is somewhat curious, and its Norman doorway will please the eye of the antiquary. Some small and uninteresting remains of a Roman Camp exist near the village.
MORETON, or Moreton-in-the-Marsh, is close to the station of the same name, on the Great Western Railway. By the highway it is a little more than 4 miles from Stow. It is a small, ancient, and pleasant market town, situated in a valley near the borders of Oxfordshire and Warwickshire, has a linen manufactory, a church and chapel, two or three schools, a readingroom, and an ancient market, which is at the present day but thinly attended. The population is 1420. Batsford Park is the seat of the Right Honourable the Lord Redesdale, who owns by far the larger part of the
Sezincot Park, about a mile from Moreton, is the seat of Sir Charles Rushout, Bart. Adjoining it is the agricultural hamlet of Sezincot, with a population of 81.
CAMPDEN, or, as it is often called, Chipping-Campden, 5 miles by rail from Moreton, is a place of considerable antiquity, being mentioned in many charters, from the time of Domesday downwards. It was incorporated by James I., and is now governed by a bailiff and other minor officers. The Church is ancient, and does not,