Imagens das páginas
PDF
ePub

and Poussin's "Adoration of the Magi," which the Pope gave to Christina of Sweden. The Princes of Condé had a seat here before the Revolution. The suspension bridge is about 1,970 feet long. Population, 2,160. Coach to Vaux.

Here the limestone banks begin to disappear, and the scenery becomes somewhat tame. Médan, Vilaines, and Millaud are passed; and then

A little beyond Bézons is the junction from St. Germains, on the west (see Route 10), and next, that of Argenteuil, from the east, by way of Ermont, etc., on the Northern line, making part of the Ceinture de Paris.

Argenteuil (8 kil. north-west), with a population of 4,600, is at a ferry over the Seine, and has parts of the old walls, with a hospital founded by St. Vincent de Paul, and the Château of Marais, which Mirabeau left in a dying state. It was to the Bernardine convent here (founded 656) that Héloise retreated after parting from Abélard.

Colombes, a station of the Banlièue line, near which Rollin wrote his Ancient History; the neighbourhood is pleasant. At

Poissy (5 miles), at the old 22-arch bridge on the river, a country-seat of the early kings, from the time of Charles the Bold (860). It has a high. roofed Gothic Church, with buttresses and two slender spires, containing the font in which Louis IX. or Louis de Poissy (from being born here) was baptised, and the tomb of Philippe, his brother. Another church, founded by his son, Philippe le Hardi, 1314 (and destroyed 1793), belonged to the Ursuline abbey, where the famous Conference was held, 1561, between the Catholics and Protestants, Beza and Peter Martyr attending, on the part of the latter; but it led to no result except the massacre of St. Bartholomew. There are also an old hospital, and a central house of detention, on the abbey site. A great cattle market for Paris on Thursdays. Hotels.-De Rouen; De la Marine. Population, le bon roi Dagobert, who was married here. The

5,100.

L'Etoile-de-Conflans (33 miles), in the middle of the forest of St. Germain (that town is to the south, see Route 10), leaves CONFLANS 4 kil. north, across the Seine, near the Oise's mouth, and having a church of the 11th and 12th century, where St. Honorius was buried; besides a picturesque château. Population, 1,430.

Maisons (2 miles), or Maisons-Lafitte, so called after the Banker, whose château, built 1658, by Mansard, was occupied by Comte d'Artois (Charles X.), and Marshal Lannes, Duke of Montebello. Voltaire was here writing the Marianne, when he caught the small-pox. Herblay château lies 5 miles north-north-east, across the river. A wooden bridge over the river brings you to Houille and the pretty village of Bézons (in department Seine-et-Oise), where the rail again crosses the Seine (which winds three or four times hereabouts) on a wooden viaduct the same size as the last, viz., nine arches, each 98 feet span. The early French kings had a mint here.

Asnières, the Rive Droite (right or north bank) line to Versailles turns off up the river (see Route 10), among several country houses, which suffered in the war of 1870-1. Population, 6,000. Here is a well-supported Regatta Club and Swimming School. The old château is now a restaurant. The Paris sewage is discharged here. A bridge of riveted iron plates replaces one burnt in 1848. This brings you over to

CLICHY-LA-GARENNE, which was a country-seat of

washerwomen, an important class, hold their annual fête here, at mi-careme. On one side are Neuilly and the Bois de Boulogne; St. Denis Cathedral and the red hills of Montmorency, on the other. Then by two or three short tunnels (one is 1,322 feet) to

Les Batignolles, outside the Barrière, near the engine shops. The large and handsome terminus, at

Paris, is in Rue Amsterdam, behind the Madeleine, 10 miles from Maisons. (See BRADSHAW'S Hand-Book for Paris.)

ROUTE 9.
Havre and Fécamp to Rouen and Paris.
By rail from Havre; trains, 5 to 7 hours. The
Fécamp branch joins at Beuzeville.

HAVRE, or Le Havre de Grace.
57 miles from Rouen, 143 from Paris.
HOTELS.-De l'Europe, Rue de Paris, highly re-
commended; good rooms, excellent cuisine.

De Bordeaux, Rue de Paris and Place du Theatre well situated, moderate charges.

De l'Amirauté, on the Quay.

Angleterre; Commerce; France; Normandie; Marine; Richelieu; Paris; Rouen; Trouville, Seine, Wheeler's; Belle-vue; Dieppe; Espagne; Paix.

English Consul, F. Bernal, Esq.

English Chapel in Place du Commerce, Rue d'Orléans; American Chapel, in Rue de la Paix; French Protestant Temple, Place du Commerce. Resident English Physician.

Post-Office, in Place Louis Seize.

Large Sea Baths near the north jetty.

OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-The Docks-Theatre -St. Pierre's House-Ingouville Church-La Hêve Lights.

Travellers through to Marseilles should declare to that effect, to save any delay at Paris. Omnibuses run to Ingouville.

Population, 86,825. Many English live in the pretty suburb of Ste. Adresse. Havre is a thriving port, a fortress, sous-préfecture, packet station, &c., in department of Seine-Inférieure, in the old province of Normandy. It ranks as the second port in France, by which the Paris foreign trade is carried on; and its harbour is, perhaps, the best in the channel, on the French side. It stands in a flat damp spot, on the north side of the Seine's mouth (where it is five miles wide), 100 miles from Southampton, and 80 from Newhaven.

Francis I. walled it round, Richelieu added a citadel, &c., and others have since improved it; but, before the 15th century, it was an insignificant fishing place, near which Henry V. of England landed on his way to Agincourt, and whence Henry VII. embarked as Earl of Richmond. Warwick held it for Elizabeth, 1562, but gave it up after a long siege; and Rodney bombarded it in 1759.

Within the fortifications, the town is composed of two divisions, St. François on the North, and Nôtre Dame, on the South, with the Docks lying between. The Rue de Paris is the most bustling street, as it leads to the Docks and Quais; but the newest houses are up Ingouville Hill, in the north suburbs, where most of the English live.

Few of the town buildings are of any note. The Hôtel de Ville, built in 1753, stands in Place

Francis I.; whose crest (the salamander) is over the door, whence there is a good view of the Docks. The Bourse or Exchange is also here; built in 1785. The Custom-house, or Douane, built in 1754, is on Quai Nôtre Dame; so called after that church, built in the 16th century, cross-shaped, in the Renaissance style; the front was restored in 1829. Originally it was a fishermen's chapel. St. François' church was erected between 1553 and 1681.

One of the best buildings is the Theatre, or Salle de Spectacle, at the end of the Bassin du Commerce, begun 1817, and rebuilt since the fire of 1845, by Charpentier. At the Cercle de Commerce, or Lloyds, the merchants meet. The old prêtoire, or bailliage, in the Market Place, is now the Palais de Justice. A public library of 25,000 volumes is in the new Museum (on the site of the ancient Hôtel de Ville), with David's statues of Saint Pierre and Delavigne in front. It is open on Sundays and Thursdays. A marble slab marks the house, in Rue de la Corderie (No. 47), where St. Pierre (the author of Paul and Virginia) was born; and another, at a house on Quai de la Barre, marks the birth-place of Delavigne. It is near the government tobacco factory and Entrepôt, both large buildings. Mad. de Scuderi, Mad. de la Fayette, Ancelot, &c., were also natives of Havre.

Three bassins or docks, viz., Bassin du Commerce, Bassin du Roi (or Vieux Bassin, begun by Colbert in 1660), and Bassin de la Barre, open into the Port Neuf (dating from 1843), and Avant Port, which are just inside the jetties, and round which the steamers and hotels are found. A telegraph at the entrance, on Francis I.'s old Tower (69 feet high, 85 round), communicates with La Hêve Lights. These Docks, with that of Vauban (opened in 1842), will hold about 700 shipping. The tide rises 20 to 27 feet, so that large ships may come in three hours before and after high water. At low water the Avant Port is dry, and its mouth is kept clear by sluices from a reservoir called the Retenue de la Floride.

The Bassin de la Barre has a floating dock at one end, with a communication to Bassin Vauban, near the railway station in Cours Napoléon. New docks are projected along the Seine, between it and the Florida reservoir, near the south Jetty.

Many useless fortifications are levelled; and Louis Napoléon having decreed a new Boulevard Impériale, which unites the town with Ingouville, great improvements may be looked for in Havre, commensurate with its increasing prosperity. The Seine runs with such power past the pierheads of the harbour as to prevent the water inside from falling sensibly for even three hours after high water; so that 120 sail have been known to leave in one tide, with the wind against them. Both sides of the river above Havre are well lighted, to guide small craft past the shifting sands. There is good anchorage in the Roads, with plenty of water; but the current often sets with dangerous swiftness. It was off this port that Sir S. Smith was captured, 1796, and sent to the Temple.

Ship-building and kindred trades are carried on. Many ships are engaged in the Newfoundland cod, the herring, and other fisheries. One of the first ships ever built here, was the Nef Francoise; a great vessel of 2,000 tons, in the reign of Francis I. Unfortunately, before she got off the stocks, she was overturned by a tempest of wind, and her timbers were used to build houses at the Barre.

At Ingouville there is an old church; and the prospects are extremely good, especially from La Côte, where the villas of the English and Foreign merchants are fixed. The low space to the northwest is lined with windmills, and leads to Cape la Hêve, where the chalk cliffs begin, on which stand the two fixed lights, 446 feet above the sea. ST. ADRESSE, near this, is a well-wooded spot, with a pretty church, cemetery, oyster park, &c., and a monument on the heights to Count Denouettes, who was shipwrecked off Ireland in 1834. More distant excursions may be made to Étretat and its chalk cliffs, near Cape Antifer Honfleur and Trouville across the Seine.

Among the articles manufactured are tobacco, soap, pottery, iron, cordage, starch, vitriol, paper, beer, refined sugar, lace, &c. The imports are sugar, coffee, spices, cotton, &c., to the value of £10,000,000, of which cotton is one-fourth; and the exports include silks, cloths, gloves, perfumes, trinkets, wine, brandy, &c.

Conveyances by coach to Fécamp, Dieppe, MontLilliers, &c. By steam to Honfleur and Rouen,

daily; Caen, daily, 4 hours; Trouville, daily, 2 hours; Pont Audemer, daily; Southampton, three times a week, 12 hours; London, every 5 days, 20 hours; San Sebastian, Corunna, Cadiz, Gibralter, and Malaga, every 20th day, in 8 days; New York, monthly, 15 days. There are also lines of sailing packets, &c. (See BRADSHAW's Continental Railway Guide.)

The first station from Havre (leaving Graville and its old abbey church, to the north) is

Harfleur (4 miles), a decayed village on the Lezarde, now 33 kil. from the Seine's mouth (here seen to advantage), but once the chief port of Normandy. Henry V. took it after seven weeks' siege, 1415, and sent the population (8,000) to Calais and elsewhere-which was the ruin of it.

The Church has a slender tower, and good portal, day in each year, the bell strikes 104 times, to with a beautiful crocketed spire. On a certain commemorate the escape of as many of the townspeople, after the siege above-mentioned. Coach to Montvilliers (5 kil. north), up the river.

A little east is Orcher château, seat of Madame Mortemarte, once belonging to Law, the financier. The line winds round the hill at the back of Honfleur, and coraes to

St. Romaine-de-Colbose (7 miles), a station 2 kil. from the village, which stands in a pleasant country, and has 1,710 population, with manufactures of stockings and prints. Coaches to Criquetot, Semeval, Angerville, Etretat (on the Channel).

[At 8 kil. east-south-east, on the high cliffs of the Seine, opposite Quilleboeuf, are the fine remains of Tancarville Castle, including the gate and its massy round towers, chapel, &c. It belonged to the Conqueror's chamberlain (ancestor of the English Tankervilles); the Harcourts; Dunois, the soldier; Law, the financier; and is now held by the Montmorencies, but is not inhabited.]

Further on you come to Mirville aqueduct, 1,640 feet long, on forty-eight arches, some 108 feet high.

Beuzeville (5 miles), or, Beuzeville le Grenier, whence there is a branch rail of 10 miles to Fécamp, across the Pays de Caux. Beuzeville is 39 miles from Rouen, 164 from Havre,

[Grainville-Goderville (4 miles) station is 2 miles from Goderville. Both villages are in a fertile country.

Les Ifs (3 miles), near Tourville; and 3 miles further is

Fécamp, a fishing port, in a healthy spot, in a gap of the cliffs, having the church (all that is left) of the abbey of Nôtre Dame, built between the 11th and 16th centuries; partly Norman, but mostly early Gothic in style; with some good carving, effigies of abbots, and a tower, 231 feet high. The light-house, on Montagne-de-la-Vierge cliff (near a chapel) is 427 feet high, and can be seen 21 miles. It has a chamber of commerce, navigation school, theatre, library, &c.; with cotton and saw mills. Herrings, mackerel, &c., are caught. Population, 12,500.

Hotels.-Grand Cerf; De la Forte; Du Com

merce.

English Vice-Consul; and Church Service. About 9 miles south-west is Cape de Caux, or Cape d'Antifer, past fine chalk cliffs all the way, from 150 to 700 feet high. They rival those of the Isle of Wight for brilliancy and variety of shape. The picturesque cliffs and caves of ÉTRETAT were first brought into fashion by Alphonse Karr. Population, 1,500. Hotel.Blanknet. About 42 kil. further is HAVRE. From Fécamp towards Dieppe, to which a coast line is projected, you pass ST. VALERY-EN-CAUX, (44 kil.), a fishing port, in a pretty spot. Population, 5,400.

At Bourg-Dun, 18 kil. further, is a church of the 15th century. DIEPPE is 19 kil. beyond it (see Route 8.)]

Bolbec-Nointot (34 miles) station, to the south of which (3 kil.) is Bolbec, a thriving town of 9,600 souls, where four valleys meet, on a stream which runs down to the Seine. Here was born General Ruffin, whom Marshal Lannes presented to Napoléon, after the Battle of Friedland, as the "most valiant" of his generals. Cotton and linen goods, leather, &c., are made.

Hotels.-De Rouen; De l'Europe.
Coach to Lillebonne.

[LILLEBONNE (8 kil. south), in a hollow, on the
Bolbec, once the Roman Julia Bona, so called

after Cæsar's daughter. It remained a place of some note under the Norman dukes, and has been revived by the cloth manufacture Population, 5,200. An ancient semi-circular theatre, about 200 feet across, cut out of the hill-side, was traced 1826; and baths, coins, pieces of statuary, &c., have been discovered. There is a good spire church. Above it are the tower and ruined walls of the Harcourt's old castle.]

Yvetot (7 miles), to the left, in a fertile spot, a sous-préfecture of 9,920 souls, with a brick church, old wooden houses, and manufactures of ribbons, cotton velvets, &c., is celebrated for its roi d'Yvetot, a burlesque title, first conferred in an edict of 1892, on its seigneur (like the King of Kippen, in Perthshire), and taken up in Béranger's song, written in 1843:

"Il faisait ses quatre repas
Dans son palais de chaume,
Et sur un âne, pas à pas,

Parcourait son royaume."

At Allonville (6 kil. south-west) is a famous oak, 36 feet round, and eight centuries old. It is fitted up as a chapel. Coaches to Cany, Ourville, Valmont, and Caudebec.

[CAUDEBEC (11 kil. south), is a pretty fishing village of 2,200 souls, in a gap of the cliffs of the Seine, where the sands begin to be troublesome. It belonged to St. Wandrille's abbey. Henry V., of England, Charles VII., and Henry IV., at various times took possession of it,-the last, in 1592. The old walls are gone, but it retains many curious wooden houses, and a beautiful Gothic Church, built 1416-48, having a richlycarved triple portal (the old arms, "three pearls, on a blue field," are seen), a side tower, with a tiara-shaped spire, and a Virgin chapel, with its great pendant, hanging from the roof. Biscuits, beer, &c., are made; at one time it was noted for gloves, and for hats called "Caudebecs." The ruined churches of St. Gertrude and Notre Dame-de-Barre-y-va, are near-the latter being of the 13th century, and a votive chapel for the bargemen, &c. Opposite it was an island, which sunk in 1641, with a monastery upon it.

[ocr errors]

At 4 miles east are the Gothic remains of a Church, on the site of the abbey, founded 684, by St. Wandrille, kinsman of Clovis, and called Fontenelle, but burnt in 1230. Theodoric, son of the last Merovingian king, died here. The buildings round it are used for a cotton factory. St. Saturnin's little Norman chapel is near; and there was another, Caillouville, so full of statues that it was called the "gathering of paradise." Across the river (4 kil. south), in Brotonne forest, is the old château of Meilleraye, or Meslerèe, seat of Madame de Mortemarte. At 4 kil. south-west of Caudebec, is the pretty village of Villequier, and its spire Church, in a gap of the river.]

Motteville (5 miles), in the wide and fertile plain of the Pays de Caux, or Vexin Normand, as it was called, was the seat of Madame de Motteville, who wrote the Memoirs of Anne of Austria. Coaches go to Yerville, St. Laurent, Luneray (35 kil.), on one road; and to Doudeville and St. Valery-en-Caux (38 kil.) on another.

Leaving this, you come to Flamanville tunnel, 541 feet long, the first of a series between this and Rouen. Then

Pavilly (7 miles), up the Austreberthe, in a pretty spot, has an old château, Esneval, of the 13th century (now a cotton work), and a church, in which the first wife of Diane de Poictiers' husband is buried. Population 3,160.

[At 15 kil. south-south-east, are the fine Norman ruins of the abbey church of Jumièges, founded 661, by St. Philibert, and rebuilt in the 11th century. It has two conspicuous towers over the west front, and parts of the central towers, &c. To this abbey the Confessor sent Harold to renew his promise of the kingdom to William. Charles VII. was here when his mistress, Agnes Sorel, died at Mesnil château (3 miles south-east) now a farmhouse, near the river, opposite Mauny forest.] Barentin (1 mile) lower down the Austreberthe (which falls into the Seine at Duclair cliffs, 11 kil. south-south-west, in the forest of le Trait-to which a coach runs) has some cotton works, and a population of 3,070. Beyond this is a great viaduct, on twenty-seven arches, 108 feet high, 1,640 feet long, as rebuilt by the contractors, after

a fall in 1846. To this succeeds the tunnel of Nôtre Dame des Champs, 7,218 feet long (under Poville hill); then a cutting 105 feet deep, in some parts; and at length,

Malaunay (5 miles) and its viaduct, at the junction with the Dieppe line (see Route 8) which comes down the valley of the Cailly.

ROUTE 10-A.

Paris to St. Cloud and Versailles. This is one of the, three or four Lignes de Banlieue, or short lines, in the environs of Paris, which branch out of the Chemin de Fer de l'Ouest. For the short line to Sceaux, see Route 34. See also, BRADSHAW's Guide to Paris,

By rail to Versailles (rive droite, i.e., right or north bank of the Seine, opened 1839), and St. Germain (opened 1839), 35 minutes past every hour, from the terminus, Rue St. Lazare. Omnibuses meet all the trains. Distance to Versailles, 23 kil. or 14 miles; to St. Germain, 18 kil. or 11 miles The stations to Versailles are:Suresnes,

Asnières,

Courbevoie, St. Cloud,

Puteaux, Sèvres, Ville d'Avray, Asnières, as in Route 8.

Chaville.

Viroflay,

Versailles.

Courbevoie (at the bridge to Villiers), has a large barrack and a church, rebuilt 1789. Population, 5,100. The Marquis de Fontanes' seat is one of the best about here. Here Francis II. and Marie Stuart parted. A little further on, over the river (here crossed by Peronnet's beautiful stone bridge, built 1772, 750 feet long, of five arches, each 120 feet span) is Neuilly (see Route 10-C.)

Puteaux, on the border of the Seine, has a population of 4,350.

Suresnes, in a pretty spot. Population, 3,200. Its vines and roses were at one time equally celebrated. In front is Mont Calvaire, or Valerian, 590 feet above sea level. A suspension bridge crosses the Seine to the Longchamps walk in the Bois de Boulogne.

St. Cloud, on a well-wooded hill side, close to the Seine (by which steamers come up), in a charming spot, is so called after Clovis's grandson, St.Clodoald, who was murdered here. Population, 4,405. It was burnt by the English, 1358; here Henry III, was

« AnteriorContinuar »